Bare Minerals READY Line No Longer Gluten-Free

READY not GF

Why?!  Why would a company go back to using gluten-containing ingredients after years of proudly not using them?!  I am more than a little annoyed with Bare Minerals right now.

I was a big fan of the READY foundation due to its color, coverage and ease of application.  After a recent visit to the Mall of America location, I came away with a cute little kit containing the foundation, concealer, mineral veil, bronzer and highlighter.  In my excitement, I forgot to read the label at the store.  Big mistake.

When I did read the package at home, I noticed that a few of the products contained tocopherol (code word for gluten-filled wheat-based vitamin E!) and consulted the company’s web site.  The FAQ page revealed that these items were NOT made without wheat, barley or rye derivatives!  I was so mad I could spit!

Needless to say, the item was promptly returned.  I should have taken note of the fact that color codes/names had changed, which could mean reformulation.  It just goes to show, you must ALWAYS read labels and NEVER take anything for granted when it comes to food/product safety!

So now what will I do?

Turns out I am also a big fan of both Primal Life Organics and Tarte products.  Both are gluten-free and perform well.  I now alternate between the two, depending on my mood.

Leave a Reply